top of page

History of the Marine Corps League

The Marine Corps League was established by Major General John A. Lejeune, Commandant of the Marine Corps, in 1923. Its federal charter was signed into law by President Franklin D. Roosevelt on 4 August 1937. In turn, Detachment 14 received its national charter on 15 April 1944.

The Marine Corps League is the only federally chartered Marine related veterans organization in the nation. At the national level, it is led by an elected Commandant and fourteen (14) elected trustees. The national Board of Trustees coordinates the activities of state entities which, in turn, coordinate the activities of over 900 community-based detachments nationwide. The day-to-day operations of the MCL are supervised by a national Executive Director and headquarters staff.

Nationally, the MCL boasts a membership of over 61,000 men and women and is one of the few veterans organizations which experiences increases in its membership each year.

It is an organization of active duty, reserve and honorably discharged Marines, and Navy corpsman who have served in the Fleet Marine Force, and exists to promote selfless service and camaraderie within its ranks. We are dedicated to preserving the honor, traditions and interests of the United States Marine Corps. We are dedicated to supporting and defending the Constitution of the United States of America.

Locally, Detachment 14 has over 100 dues paying and Life members. The Marine Corps League is an IRS recognized 501(c)(4) non-profit organization with a special group exemption letter allowing for financial contributions to itself, its auxiliary and subsidiary units.

bottom of page